QLD Autumn Symposium Program 2019

The Symposium Committee members of Dr Sharyn Smith (Chair), Dr James Collier, Dr Darren Powrie and Dr Kim Hansen who have been organising the Queensland Autumn Symposium for over ten years are delighted to announce the 15th Annual QLD Autumn Symposium. 

With the wealth of expertise and experience, the QLD Autumn Symposium Committee have grown the Symposium from a small meeting, gaining momentum every year to successfully delivering an event that has sold out in the past four years. 

Thursday 23rd May 2019

8:15am Session 1. Trauma Update

  • Trauma in Pregnancy, Dr Rebecca Kimble RBWH
  • Burns, Dr Michael Rudd, RBWH

10:30am Session 2.  The ED playlist... short, sharp updates on five current concepts in EM practice

  •  CT Brain in the Elderly Dr Matthew Shepherd, Tamworth Hospital
  •  Management of behaviour disturbance in 2019, Dr Iain McNeill PAH 
  • ROTEM for all? Dr Don Campbell GCUH
  • Dr Fran Kinnear 

1:00pm Session 3. Breakout sessions 

-Palliative Care workshop, facilitated by Dr Bill Lukin

-Free papers session, various speakers chaired by Dr James Collier

-New Fellows workshop, facilitated by ACEM and QLD faculty

-Wellbeing in the ED workshop, facilitated by WRaPEM Team

3:00pm Session 4. Pitfalls in Paediatric Radiology, facilitated by Dr Craig Hacking 

4:45pm Relax at the end of the day at the Autumn Symposium Welcome Reception. 

Friday 24th May 2019

8:30am Session 5. Emergency Mental Health - Challenges and Solutions. Chaired by Dr James Collier

  • An emergency physician's perspective, Dr Shahina Braganza
  • A psychiatrist's perspective, Professor Chris Stapelberg
  •  Novel Models of Care: SCUH Dr Rob Leerentveld, and PAH CTU Dr Keith Harris 

10:30am Session 6. Challenging Paediatric Patients 

  •  Behavioural Difficulties, Dr Tanya Gray TPCH
  •  Functional Illness in Children, Dr Ben Symon TPCH
  • The Dying Child, Dr Kate Edgeworth TPCH

1:15pm Session 7. Best Papers 2019,  Dr Colin Banks and Dr Jeremy Furyk

2:45pm CLOSE of 2019 QLD Autumn Symposium 

- 3pm Afternoon tea served -